Honorary Life Membership Awards

Honorary Life Membership Awards are awarded to people who have made a significant contribution to the club or bird conservation. Awards are presented at the Annual General Meeting and recognise members that have been members for more than 25 years and who have made a significant contribution in one or more of the categories listed:

  • club administration
  • conservation of birds and their habitats
  • understanding birds and their behaviour
  • educating youth and adults on birds, their habitats and behaviour.

Nominations for the awards should be in the form of a citation which can be submitted by any committee or club member and sent to the committee by 31 December each year.  The committee will make the final decision.  All awards given along with their citations will be recorded on our website, and in the club archives held at the Durban Natural Science Museum.

BirdLife eThekwini KZN is not bound to present awards on an annual basis, nor is it bound by the number of awards presented in any one year. Click on the people below who have received the award to read their citation.

2018 Lesley Frescura
  • Some of the highlights
  • Sub-committee for education for two years
  • thereafter Lesley served as club chair for an amazing 12 years
  • club administration
  • communication with club members
  • indoor meeting speakers
  • guiding Wednesday morning outings.

To download the citation click the button

2015 Sally King
Sally feeding Red-billed Streamertail

2013 Lyn Bingham
2022 Jennifer Norman
  • Member for 40 years
  • Mentor to many!
  • Dedicated bird watcher
  • Always careful with the correct names and identification

To download the citation click the button

2013 Derek Spencer
2012 Tim Wood